Re-Donate.

If you’re like me, a thriftaholic, you’ve probably accumulated a lot of stuff. Some deals are too good to pass up, and if you don’t end up wearing something, or wear it once.. it’s not a huge financial loss. I can basically talk myself into buying anything at the thrift store. It’s talking myself out of buying something that’s difficult. Is $4 really worth a debate? Which brings me to this post. I gotta Re-donate. I’ll be the first to say, I’ve been slack with blogging my thrift hauls. I have been trying to cut back on the thrifting.

One: It was Christmas, a time to spend my money on others.

Two: I live in a shoe box, without adequate closet space. If I buy a couple sweaters, they have no place to hide. Basically, my apartment in a dressing room with a bed in it.

With open space in my apartment slowly becoming non-existent, and realizing I only wear a couple of my favorite things over and over, I decided to be ruthless and purge. Let me tell you, it feels good to get rid of junk (I use the term junk lovingly). I already donated a bag of stuff to the thrift shop (forgot to take a photo). Round two, I was on the ball and captured a photo.

STUFF IMG_8455

One of the perks at my thrift shop is that they give you a $10 off $30 coupon. So not only am I making room and donating things other people might want, I’m also getting an even bigger deal the next time I thrift. It’s a wonderful cycle.

Purging Tips:

  • If you like something but you never wear it and you don’t want to get rid of it… try it on! What good is something that you like, but doesn’t look good on you? It doesn’t mean it’s not nice. I’m sure it will look great on someone else, but if you don’t feel good in something, you will never wear it.
  • Let go of sentimental things that have bad memories. This is what I’m trying to do. This mostly applies to my knick-knacks. I’m one of those people that remember where I was when I bought something, who I was with, and most likely what I paid for it. I’m sentimental and a dang mug can bring memories rushing back. If those memories make you sad… huck it. Someone at the thrift store will LOVE finding that really nice Starbucks travel mug, and they won’t have any negative feelings about the great deal they just scored. Just because something was expensive, doesn’t mean it adds value to your life.
  • Have a donate bag in your closet (or spare inch in my case) going at all times. When you get dressed in the morning, and notice you don’t like something, or it’s shrunk, or not your thing anymore.. whatever! Chuck it in there. This way you don’t keep things in drawers just because and it allows you to change your mind if you decided that shrunk shirt is the perfect crop top for an outfit.
  • Re-sell things! Not everything has to be donated. I sell a lot of my thrift mistakes at work (We have an electronic bulletin board – it’s the cats arse). Just because those ankle boots didn’t work for me.. doesn’t mean they won’t work for someone else! One thing I know is: Ladies love purses and shoes. It’s a fact. For bigger items, household stuff, I sell them on Kijiji. Making money and making room, it’s win-win.boots

It’s hard, I know.. I want to keep everything. The truth is you will buy duds at the thrift store from time to time. That jump suit overhaul thing might have been a good idea at the time, but it’s okay to let it go. After all, it was only $8

Leave a Reply

